Ode to George Ella Lyon*

I am from an arranged marriage that had no love and did not survive

I am from my spirit’s will to survive

I am from a fury that’s been subdued

I am from a blessing and a promise that I have yet to see

I am from a far away land that I have not seen nor smelled

I am a mystery even to myself

I am from a Creator that I have never seen

I sit quietly yet filled with anxiety and rage

I have a heart but act heartless

I live on hope and a peace that has no end

*Inspired from his “Where I’m From” poem

Leave a Reply

